Heck yeah, I’m weird!

There is a tendency today in our culture to lay low and try not to stick out.  Be normal, average, and a conformist. That is why it is usually a shock to most when a couple sits down with me and I go over a plan with them on how they can become debt free. They usually have this look on their faces of amazement and in the back on their heads I know they are thinking, “This guy is weird. He thinks you can live debt free.” My response is always “HECK YEAH, I am weird,” because normal is living paycheck to paycheck and living one emergency to the next. The thing is that I am not ashamed to admit it! Here are some other ways that I am viewed as weird:

My wife and I don’t argue a lot over money-Yes, we might have a disagreement every now and then when we do our monthly budget. But my wife and I can discuss money openly with each other without one of us blowing up at the other and going into orbit. One of the leading causes of divorce in America is due to money fights and most couples surveyed say they fight over money.

Not waiting until retirement to live my life-The norm in America is to work a job you hate and be miserable for 30-40 years, then retire at age 65, then start doing what you love. Or if you are lucky you can retire at 55 and start to live. I am about to turn 30 later this year and just the thought of waiting 30-35 more years to live my dreams is really depressing. That is why I am developing goals with my family to take us to where we want to be and responsibly enjoy life now and not just later.

Besides our mortgage we do not owe anybody anything-Yes, we are debt free and no, there is no way EVER that we are going to borrow money for anything else again. There’s no car, education, or vacation worth going into debt for. Because of that we have the freedom financially to spend, save, and give as we please and we let our money work for us instead of us working for money.

We spend our money before we get it-Are we shopaholics? No, we just sit down and plan our month before it begins. So we have spent every dollar we will earn on purpose. Normal is being out of money on the 24th each month and wondering where it all went.

Have money in the bank-64% of Americans could not cover a $1,000 expense without going into debt. Not us! The importance of an emergency fund cannot be understated. It is has come in handy so many times and has turned a potential crisis into simply an inconvenience.

My relationship with my family is based on time together, not how much money we have-Yes, I encourage people to get out of debt, save money, and become wealthy, but not because money buys happiness. The most important thing in my life besides my faith is my family and they do not care how much money we make or what we can buy. But they do care about the time and the memories that we make together.

I spend more time reading than watching TV –To be honest, this is a new thing in my life. But since we cut the cord on cable last year, I have instead invested more time into changing my life than watching someone else live their life. Funny thing is that I don’t even miss TV; it is such a time waster. I still watch it from time to time but reading has allowed me to spend more time investing in myself.

I keep trying to improve my life-I have a “good life.” I make a good income, have a good job, loving family and I can do most things I want to. But I want to fight against the disease of being just “good enough.” I want to work on something that I have a passion for and to change lives in the process and not just get by with my life.

So there I said and can admit it, I am weird, folks. But if being weird is what it takes to not be broke, to not hate your job, and become unhappy with life then I am all for it! Would you like to become weird financially? The average financial stats are pretty depressing and if you would like to become weird and leave your normal financial condition behind get in touch with me today! I would love to work with you and give you a new perspective on your money by focusing on your economy.

Now that I have listed in detail how I am weird, what about you? What are some things that you do that make you weird? I would love to see your list; please share it in the comment section below.

To receive notifications of new posts, please join our email list or visit our subscription page

To learn how JW’s Financial Coaching can give you a new perspective on your money please visit one of the following links:

About Services Offered Mission Statement Contact Information FAQ

About Jon White

Giving people hope and seeing them win with their finances is something I have a strong passion for. Because of this passion I started JW’s Financial Coaching in the summer of 2010. Financial coaching has allowed me to combine my passions of finances, teaching, and helping others by helping people get on the right track financially. I'm interested in hearing your story so please do not hesitate to interact with me through social media.
This entry was posted in Debt, Financial Discipline, Personal Accountability, Personal Story, Spending. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heck yeah, I’m weird!

  1. Jon! You are weird! Congratulations my friend!
    You have my admiration for all that you and your wife have accomplished.

    My wife Elaine and I are trying to be weird too! We saved money up in our ‘vehicle fund’ and wrote a cheque to purchase a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan just a few months ago. Our 2000 Chevy Venture was getting very tired, rusty and unreliable. When we drove our ‘new’ minivan off the dealer’s lot, it had only 31,000 miles on it and NO monthly payments. It was paid in full.

    We now also have $1000 in an emergency savings account. It’s not for a vacation. It’s not for electronics. It’s not for anything else we might want. It’s for emergencies. Having money just sitting in an account only making 0.25% interest in WEIRD. We think it’s great!

    When we were married in June of 1999, we decided that we wanted to purchase a house and pay it off in less than 10 years. Most people can’t even fathom that idea! Using wisdom found in the book of Proverbs, a healthy dose of sacrifice in our lifestyle & expenses, a commitment to our long term goal and, most importantly – the Lord’s support – we made our final mortgage payment after only 9 years. Weird! We are a single income family with 3 kids living a modest lifestyle. It can be done!

    We still have a balance on a line-of-credit that we are now attacking head on! We stumbled near the end and charged both a cruise (10 year anniversary) and a basement renovation on credit (that’s not weird, that’s what average people do all the time). Looking back, we wish we had stayed strong and waited on those items instead of using debt. We will pay it off in less than 2 years and, at that point, we will be completely weird!

    Keep up the good work with your articles and podcast.

    * * * Anyone who is reading this comment needs to follow what Jon and his friends are teaching about debt. Don’t learn how to manage debt – Learn how to eliminate it!

    • Jon White says:

      Thanks for the kind words Glen, I really appreciate it. Thanks for sharing a little bit about your situation, that is so awesome that you paid your house off in less than 10 years! Who does that? Hopefully my wife and I will be paying off our home here soon.

      But Glen I want to know when your family pays off your line of credit. I’m doing a new podcast series titled Debt Free Living where I have people on the show sharing their stories and I definitely want to have you on and tell everybody how you did it!

      Thanks again for the comment Glen and keep up the good work on Stewardship Weekly!

  2. Well hello fellow weirdo. 😉

    It’s so funny that living debt-free is considered weird, isn’t it?

    You and your wife have made some great decisions with your finances. I wish my husband and I would have started out our married lives as smart as you and your wife have.

    Like I’ve explained to you in earlier conversations, in my area living debt-free is so unheard of that I don’t mention it to people in my psychical world. Other than chats with my family, conversation about debt doesn’t really come up because it’s just assumed that everyone has it.

    So, I’m happy to be weird! And I’m incredibly grateful for the online community full of other weird people that help me realize that being weird isn’t so uncommon after all.

    • Jon White says:

      Jenny, it’s great to be surrounded by other weirdo’s including yourself. 🙂 I too think it is important to be around other like minded people when it comes to getting out of debt because like you said, the concept of being debt free is such a foreign view to so many people. But keep being WEIRD! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

