Goals: An Adventurous Journey Awaits Us

Every Wednesday in the month of January there will be a guest post dealing with setting goals for 2012. Today’s guest is Chris Peek. Having no direction in our life is something I think we can all relate to but it is great to see what Chris and his wife have been able to do by setting goals. If you got a chance, check out Chris’s blog as he is producing some quality material there.

Up until a couple of years ago, goal setting wasn’t even on my radar. Like most of you, I had been taught that it was my responsibility to go to college, get a job, and work for forty, fifty years. Afterward, I could enjoy my remaining time on earth retired by the beach. It was never an outward, spoken lesson that my parents or a teacher taught me. Rather, like most of us, I got caught up in the currents and pressures of culture until my heart’s desires were no longer apparent to me.

In the midst of feeling of dissatisfied with a heavy dose of ongoing job stress weighing me down, I stumbled upon Dan Miller’s 48 Days to the Work You Love. He is a major advocate for both goal setting and finding balance in all areas of your life. He asserts, “Your life has meaning only when you are working toward goals that you have decided on.” Something in his words began to resonate with me. I realized that I didn’t have any direction in life; I was simply trying to “get through” each day, rushing past each season of life.

I began to sketch out some rough ideas of where I wanted to go, but it wasn’t until two years ago that I really thought through and wrote down my goals for the entire year. Since then, my goals have altered somewhat, as I’ve gained a much better understanding of who I am. Goals will shift in this process, as we gain better clarity of who we are and what we desire to do.

Throughout the past two years of setting goals, I’ve discovered my passion for communicating through writing and have been blogging for about a year at Trailreflections.com, with a hope of inspiring others to live intentionally.

In addition, I’ve been working on a business with my wife, InspiredArtofCooking.com. She set a goal in 2010 to publish her first cookbook in 2011. As I helped out with the writing aspects of the book, we took her recipes and compiled them into a 180-page cookbook called Be Your Own Chef. We’ve set numerous goals this year in terms of book sales, book signings, speaking engagements, and TV cooking demonstrations, but our main desire is to communicate hope to people stuck in the midst of life’s struggles.

For us, it’s been a personal journey of setbacks, as my wife Karen was diagnosed with a heart/adrenal condition five years ago. Yet, after hitting rock bottom, Karen felt a calling to write this cookbook and share her story of finding purpose in the middle of overwhelming health issues. It’s often pain that pushes us out of our normal ways of doing life into something more meaningful.

It’s amazing to reexamine my original goals from last year and see how far our journey has taken us. It all started with a goal, a dream, and a vision. As we took daily, intentional action, those goals sprung to life.

Goals provide that panoramic snapshot of what your ideal life will look like, and they push you beyond the limits of safety and comfort into life of intention and meaning. By setting goals, we conceptualize the framework for the adventurous journey that awaits us.

Chris Peek is a blogger, video/TV producer, and photographer.  He is passionate about helping others  live intentionally and blogs regularly at TrailReflections.com. When he’s not wearing many hats helping Karen at InspiredArtofCooking.com, you can find him hiking the Appalachian Mountains, biking a trail, or kayaking the waterways of southeast Virginia

To receive notifications of new posts, please join our email list or visit our subscription page

To learn how JW’s Financial Coaching can give you a new perspective on your money please visit one of the following links:

About Services Offered Mission Statement Contact Information FAQ

About Jon White

Giving people hope and seeing them win with their finances is something I have a strong passion for. Because of this passion I started JW’s Financial Coaching in the summer of 2010. Financial coaching has allowed me to combine my passions of finances, teaching, and helping others by helping people get on the right track financially. I'm interested in hearing your story so please do not hesitate to interact with me through social media.
This entry was posted in Financial Goals, Financial Plan, Guests, Personal Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goals: An Adventurous Journey Awaits Us

  1. Jon White says:

    Thanks for sharing Chris. What you and Karen have done is pretty amazing and I’m looking forward to see where you guys go in 2012.

Leave a Reply

