Things I wish I knew about money 10 years ago!

Credit: JMRosenfeld

Ten years ago I was in the middle of my sophomore year at THE Ohio State University.  I was still living at home with my parents and working my way through college. But I was preparing to move out on my own for my junior and senior years and transfer to the main campus in Columbus, Ohio. Ultimately I was able to graduate from school without any loans (!) but that does not mean I have not made my fair share of mistakes or have not learned a lot about money in the last ten years.  Below are some of the things that I wish I had known about money ten years ago:

So those are the things I wish I knew about money ten years ago. But what about yourself? What are some things you wish you knew about money 5, 10, 15 years ago?

If you would like to get a new perspective on your money, get in touch with me today as I would be more than glad to answer any questions that you have and potentially discuss working together.

To receive notifications of new posts, please join our email list or visit our subscription page

To learn how JW’s Financial Coaching can give you a new perspective on your money please visit one of the following links:

About Services Offered Mission Statement Contact Information FAQ

About Jon White

Giving people hope and seeing them win with their finances is something I have a strong passion for. Because of this passion I started JW’s Financial Coaching in the summer of 2010. Financial coaching has allowed me to combine my passions of finances, teaching, and helping others by helping people get on the right track financially. I'm interested in hearing your story so please do not hesitate to interact with me through social media.
This entry was posted in College, Credit Cards, Debt, Financial Goals, Personal Story and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things I wish I knew about money 10 years ago!

  1. bradkindercoaching says:

    Great list Jon. There are SO many things I wish me and my family would have done 10 years ago. From my experience, it seems when a person is starting out in life, most people don’t handle money well. Sometimes they even know better, they just are foolish and do it anyway. I wish I would have listened to my gut feeling when I didn’t like paying for things later on a credit card or having a car payment. Oh, if only I knew! 🙂

    Ok, if I pick one thing I wish I knew about money 10 years ago…..it is the importance of saving. It hurts a little at first to save, but it feels SO good when you have money saved.

    • Jon White says:

      Brad, I think when we are young we look as something that we should probably start to do. But we instead live in the moment and buying things that will “make us happy” today and convince ourselves that we will save “later.” Usually we wish we would have started sooner, but hey at least you are saving now. Lots of people do not begin to really save until it is too late!

  2. donationcan says:

    What you do with money in your 20s doesn’t stay in your 20s. That’s true, my husband and I paid off debt and started to build a savings. Our successes won’t stay in our 20s!

    • Jon White says:

      That’s a great point! I usually associated that phrase with doing bad things with money in your 20’s. But you are right, if you do good things with money your success won’t stay in your 20’s. It will impact your future as well. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

